New England Patriots Should Win Every ESPY Category They Are In

3 of 5

Feb 1, 2015; Glendale, AZ, USA; New England Patriots quarterback Tom Brady celebrates after defeating the Seattle Seahawks in Super Bowl XLIX at University of Phoenix Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

Category 3: Best NFL Player

  • Tom Brady (Patriots)
  • Aaron Rodgers (Packers)
  • J.J. Watt (Texans)
  • DeMarco Murray (Eagles)
  • Antonio Brown (Steelers)

There are only two viable options on this list: Tom Brady, and Aaron Rodgers. These two players were the only candidates in my mind for the league MVP last year, as their play was stellar all season long. And to decide who deserves to win this award, I will ask you one question: who threw for four touchdowns, and led his team on back-to-back touchdown drives in the fourth quarter to overcome a 10-point deficit against the greatest secondary ever assembled to win the Super Bowl?

Tom Brady did that, and Aaron Rodgers posted a 55.8 quarterback rating against that same defense in the NFC Championship two weeks earlier. I think that solves the mystery of who deserves this award. I’m not saying Rodgers didn’t deserve the MVP, because he did. That award is based on the regular season, and I have no argument there between Brady and Rodgers. But what Brady did in the playoffs, and more importantly, the Super Bowl, was all-time great, and there is no doubt in my mind he was the overall best NFL player in 2014-15.

Next: Category 4