2013 NFL Awards: Peyton Takes Home MVP, Brady Receives One Vote

Jan 19, 2014; Denver, CO, USA; Denver Broncos quarterback Peyton Manning (18) celebrates during the 2013 AFC championship playoff football game against the New England Patriots at Sports Authority Field at Mile High. Mandatory Credit: Matthew Emmons-USA TODAY Sports

The 2013 NFL awards were given out last night, and in what was a surprise to no one, Peyton Manning was named MVP. Manning had a terrific season, smashing records all over the place, and leading his team to a birth in the Super Bowl. He received 49 out of a possible 50 votes, leaving Tom Brady’s 2010 season as the only unanimous MVP campaign. The other vote was actually give to Brady, and while I agree Manning deserved to win the award, Brady’s season deserved more praise than one simple vote. He took a team ravaged by injury to a 12-4 regular season record, and a birth in the AFC Championship game. If Manning was given this same team, I doubt he would have been able to do what Brady did. But that’s a different argument for a different day. It was a fantastic season from Manning, and he definitely deserved his fifth MVP award.

Here is the full list of award winners:

MVP: Peyton Manning

Coach Of Year: Ron Rivera

Offensive Player Of The Year: Peyton Manning

Defensive Player Of The Year: Luke Kuechly

Offensive Rookie Of The Year: Eddie Lacy

Defensive Rookie Of The Year: Sheldon Richardson

Comeback Player Of The Year: Phillip Rivers




Topics: 2013 NFL Awards, Peyton Manning, Tom Brady

Want more from Musket Fire?  
Subscribe to FanSided Daily for your morning fix. Enter your email and stay in the know.

20 hours ago

2014 NFL Mock Draft: Expert Has DL Ra’Shede Hageman Going To New England

1 day ago

NFL Draft Rumors: New England Patriots Interested In Marqise Lee?

1 day ago

The Patriot Way-New England Patriots News 4/19